

Monroe County Volunteer Firefighter's Association Annual Membership Meeting Minutes Rush Volunteer Fire Department October 30, 2024

A meal was served by the Rush Fire Department Ladies Auxiliary. At 1900 a program on Active Shooter was presented by Trooper Jason Klewicki of Troop E. A short break followed.

The annual meeting was called to order by President Michael Lapinski at 2017. Chief Jon Faugh welcomed the group to Rush. Assistant Chief Dan Kwiecien was also present.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led By Mike Lapinski. An opening prayer was offered by Royer Pfersick.

Requested to be excused: Alan Way

There was a quorum.

A motion was made by Stewart Bell, seconded by Royer Pfersick and carried to approve the last general membership meeting minutes as posted.

Treasurer's Report

Jim Princehorn emailed his reports. A motion was made by Larry Ritz, seconded by Royer Pfersick, and carried to acknowledge his report.

Committee Reports – Only Committees with reports are listed

Budget and Finance

The 2025 budget will be presented later in the meeting.

Investments

Larry Ritz reported that there has been a slight gain as of last month. He and Jim Princehorn will be meeting with the advisor in January.

Fire Prevention Essay Contest

Mike Lapinski reported that schools wanted information, but none ended up participating.

Legislation

Dave Sweet reported the FASNY Legislative Program will be this coming weekend.

Resolutions: Presented by Diana Pfersick

Be it resolved that the Monroe County Volunteer Firefighter's Association honor the following who have answered their last alarm since our last annual meeting:

		1
7/20/2023	James Cassidy	Gates Fire District #3
11/2/2023	Phillip White	Brockport Fire Department
11/21/2023	Christopher Cochi	Webster Fire Department
12/5/2023	John David	Rush Fire Department (Social Member)
12/7/2023	Christopher Klafehn	Walker Fire Department
12/8/2023	Eric Jackson	Barnard Fire Department
12/22/2023	Lynn W. Mack	Rush Fire Department Life Member
12/26/2023	Steven "Snapper" Preston	Penfield Fire Department
1/30/2024	Marlene Stageman	North Greece Fire Department Ladies Auxiliary
2/18/2024	Robert Walsh	Marine Fire Department
3/26/2024	Paul S. Dentino	Gates Chili Fire Department
4/6/2024	Timothy Martel	Gates Fire Department
4/11/2024	William Brice, Sr.	Brockport Fire Department
4/15/2024	John Swartzenberg	Hamlin Fire Department
4/16/2024	Greg Nichols	Hilton Fire Department - Past President
4/19/2024	Zenon "Zeke" Trojanski	Mumford Fire Department
5/3/2024	John "Jack" Illes	St. Paul Blvd Fire Department
5/14/2024	William Rhoden	Gates Fire Department
5/14/2024	Timothy Rector	Laurelton Fire Department - Past Chief
5/22/2024	John Steckel	Lake Shore Fire Department
6/7/2024	Edward Maeske	West Webster Fire Department
6/22/2024	Leo Murphy	Penfield Fire Department
7/2/2024	Frank Collaveccia	Gates Fire Department
8/2/2024	David Hancock	Gates Fire Department
8/3/2024	James E. Hare	Hilton Fire Department - Past Chief
8/20/2024	John Duggan	Hilton Fire Department Honorary Member
9/5/2024	John Werner	Hilton Fire Department
10/4/2024	Edwin Spahn	North Greece Fire Department
10/22/2024	Shirley "Sparky" Hess	Hilton Fire Department Ladies Auxiliary

May their souls rest in peace on a job well done.

Nominations/Elections

It was noted that David Coon is stepping down from the Board of Directors, so a replacement is needed. The Vice President spot is vacant and needs filling.

For election to President: Michael Lapinski. After no other nominations after three calls, a motion was made by David Coon, seconded by Larry Ritz and carried for the secretary to cast one ballot for Michael Lapinski as President. Nominations were opened for Vice President. No one voiced a nomination for Vice President at this time. Directors Dale Nesbitt and Michael Marlowe agreed to another term as Directors. After no other nominations were made after three calls, a motion was made by Dave Coon, seconded by Royer Pfersick and carried for the secretary to cast one ballot for each as Director. For Treasurer: James Princehorn. After three calls for other nominations, a motion was made by Dave Coon, seconded by Bonnie Sweet and carried for the secretary to cast one ballot for James Princehorn for Treasurer. For Secretary: Diana Pfersick. After three calls for other nominations, a motion was made by Dave Coon, seconded by Judy Nesbitt, and carried for the President to cast one ballot for Diana Pfersick for the position of Secretary.

2025 Annual Budget

The budget by each category was presented by Chris Dunn via power point presentation. A motion was made by Dave Coon, seconded by Jim Pasquale, and carried to accept the budget as presented.

FASNY

Diana Pfersick reported that the Committee and Legislative weekend is this coming weekend.

Western NYVFA

Dale Nesbitt noted the next meeting is November 10th in Dansville.

Northern Central NYVFA

Dave Sweet reported that the next meeting and legislative program will be January 18th at the Ontario County Training Center.

Fire Advisory Board

Jim Princehorn reported next meeting is the second Monday of November.

Firefighter's Home

Mike Lapinski reported that the Home has 82 residents. 11 are waiting on paperwork. 2 are from Monroe County. The maintenance building project is ahead of schedule.

Monroe County Ladies Auxiliary

Bonnie Sweet announced that the Ladies will next meet on November 6th in Chili.

President's Report

Mike Lapinski noted that the Board has been working on planning some trips and events for 2025. They include Hockey, ball game, Chief's Show trip, Drill Team at Main Transit trip and more. The Christmas Party will be at Nick's Seabreeze Inn on December 4th. Price will be supplemented.

Old Business

Bonnie Sweet suggested a modest charge for bus trips. She has a person who does embroidery for shirts.

New Business

None at this time.

Bills

\$25.00 for Organizational dues to FASNY and \$200.00 meeting stipend to Rush Fire Department A motion was made by Stewart Bell, seconded by Royer Pfersick, and carried to pay the bills.

Adjournment

After a closing prayer by Chaplain Royer Pfersick, a motion was made by Stew Bell, seconded by Doug Platt and carried to adjourn at 2130.

Respectfully submitted, Diana Pfersick, Secretary

